Stay-at-Home Order Effective March 26

Stay-at-Home Order Effective March 26
Posted on 03/25/2020
March 25, 2020

Dear Douglas County Community,

Today, the Tri-County Health Department, along with two other public health departments, issued a Stay-At-Home Public Health Order. This affects all residents in Douglas County, as well as those living in Adams, Arapahoe, Boulder, and Jefferson counties. The Stay-At-Home order will go into effect on Thursday, March 26 at 8:00 a.m. and continue through Friday, April 17 at 11:59 p.m.

The Tri-County Health Department shared that the goal of implementing a Stay-At-Home order is, in part, to slow the rapid spread of COVID-19 in our area and address hospital capacity concerns. Today’s order is in addition to the previously issued public health order promoting social distancing.

The Stay-At-Home order requires all of us to stay at our place of residence and leave only for essential activities needed to maintain health and well-being. Permitted activities include getting groceries, obtaining medical supplies/medication, and engaging in outdoor activities like walking while practicing social distancing.

In an effort to assist our partners at Tri-County Health in minimizing the spread of COVID-19 in our community, we ask our families and students to avoid playgrounds, ballparks, athletic fields, tracks, etc. located on DCSD properties. We have closed our buildings, grounds, and facilities in alignment with the executive order issued by Governor Polis.

During the Stay-At-Home period, DCSD Nutrition Services will continue providing free breakfast and lunches in a grab-and-go format for any student 18 years old and younger. For distribution times and locations, as well as other resources available to our community, please visit

Included with this correspondence is additional information from the Tri-County Health Department. I encourage you to review this as we all work together to slow the spread of COVID-19 cases in our community.

I want to thank you again for your partnership during this time. I appreciate everyone’s focus on remote learning and supporting our students. I will continue to provide updates as needed as we work through this situation.


Thomas S. Tucker, Ph.D.
Douglas County School District

Español | русский | 中文
Website by SchoolMessenger Presence. © 2020 Intrado Corporation. All rights reserved.

In compliance with Titles VI & VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, Title IX of the Education Amendments of 1972, Section 504 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, the Age Discrimination in Employment Act of 1967, the Americans with Disabilities Act, the Genetic Information Nondiscrimination Act of 2008, and Colorado law, the Douglas County School District RE-1 does not unlawfully discriminate against otherwise qualified students, employees, applicants for employment, or members of the public on the basis of disability, race, creed, color, sex, sexual orientation, marital status, national origin, religion, ancestry, or need for special education services. Discrimination against employees and applicants for employment based on age, genetic information, and conditions related to pregnancy or childbirth is also prohibited in accordance with state and/or federal law. Complaint procedures have been established for students, parents, employees, and members of the public. The School District’s Compliance Officer and Title IX Coordinator to address complaints alleging sexual harassment under Title IX is Ted Knight, Assistant Superintendent, 620 Wilcox Street, Castle Rock, Colorado,, 303-387-0067. Complaints regarding violations of Title VI, (race, national origin), Title IX (sex, gender), Section 504/ADA (handicap or disability), may be filed directly with the Office for Civil Rights, U.S. Department of Education, 1244 North Speer Blvd., Suite 310, Denver, CO 80204. Complaints regarding violations of Title VII (employment) and the ADEA (prohibiting age discrimination in employment) may be filed directly with the Federal Office of Equal Employment Opportunity Commission, 303 E. 17th Ave., Suite 510, Denver, CO 80202, or the Colorado Civil Rights Commission, 1560 Broadway, Suite 1050, Denver, CO 80202.